2022 Splatterpunk Awards: Wrapping Up the Reviews


It took me longer than I’d hoped, but I’ve finally completed reviewing each and every one of the 2022 Splatterpunk Award finalists. Phew! Congratulations to each of them, plus Clive Barker (who won the 2022 J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award).

Here are the reviews — all 29,000 words’ worth of them. Perhaps take a look while I’m getting started on the 2023 finalists…

Best Novel

The Night Stockers by Kristopher Triana & Ryan Harding (winner)
Don’t Go To Wheelchair Camp by David Irons
Trench Mouth by Christine Morgan
The Maddening by Carver Pike
The Devoured and the Dead by Kristopher Rufty
Left to You by Daniel J. Volpe

Best Novella

Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke by Eric LaRocca (winner)
Midnight in the City of the Carrion Kid by James G. Carlson
Only The Stains Remain by Ross Jeffery
A Roll of the Dice by Matt Shaw
Sacrament by Steve Stred
Talia by Daniel J. Volpe

Best Short Story

“Next Best Baker” by Jeff Strand (winner)
“The Martini Club” by Aron Beauregard
“Fireflies and Apple Pies” by Thomas R. Clark
“Sun Poison” by Stephen Kozeniewski
“Start Today” by Justin Lutz
“Abigail” by Daemon Manx

Best Collection

Beyond Reform by Jon Athan, Aron Beauregard & Jasper Bark (winner)
Black Tongue and Other Anomalies, Richard Beauchamp
Sinister Mix by Brian Bowyer
Twisted: Tainted Tales by Janine Pipe
May Cause Ocular Bleeding by Nikolas P. Robinson

Best Anthology

Body Shocks, ed. Ellen Datlow (joint winner)
Baker’s Dozen, ed. Candace Nola (joint winner)
Between a Spider’s Eyes, ed. River Dixon
Bludgeon Tools, ed. K. Trap Jones
Gorefest, ed. K. Trap Jones
Battered, Broken Bodies, ed. Matt Shaw

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: